Vocalist in Curls

Could A 12 Step Program Be Right For You?

Addiction isn't a choice. That statement may not seem groundbreaking today, but the idea of alcoholism as an illness was a new concept in 1939 when the book Alcoholics Anonymous was first published.

 

Today, the 12-step recovery model is a cornerstone in the treatment of drug and alcohol addiction. Evidence supports the effectiveness of peer-to-peer support mutual aid organizations such as AA and NA.

 

A study, sponsored by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), examined the effectiveness of various treatment types in reducing overall drinking and drug use, and concluded that the 12-step model resulted in the most significant long-term impact.

 

Below are four 12 step organizations that have helped countless millions around the globe recover from addiction to alcohol, drugs, and negative behaviors.

 

At Colusa County Recovery - we understand addiction because we've been there.  

12 Step Mutual Support Groups

Narcotics Anonymous 12 Steps Of Recovery

Step 1: "We admitted that we were powerless over our addiction—that our lives had become unmanageable." This step involves acknowledging the addiction and the damaging impact it has had on the individual's life. It is about admitting powerlessness in the face of addiction. 

Step 2: "We came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity." NA focuses on using spirituality and faith to help guide people on their path to recovery. It is about believing in a power bigger than themselves.

Step 3: "We made a decision to turn our will and our lives over the care of God as we understood Him." While this step specifically references God, it notes that it is the individual's understanding of their own spiritual beliefs that will guide their recovery. It is centered on surrendering to the care of a higher power. It also stresses the importance of actively deciding to work toward recovery.

Step 4: "We made a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves." This step focuses on taking stock of both individual burdens and strengths. It is centered on improving self-awareness and gaining a better understanding of the self. By taking this inventory, people can gain a better understanding of the challenges they might face and the tools they have to help them overcome those obstacles.

Step 5: "We admitted to God, to ourselves, and to another human being the exact nature of our wrongs." This step encourages those in recovery to talk about their mistakes and weaknesses. The goal is to gain a sense of release of shame and guilt that can help people avoid unhealthy coping mechanisms going forward.

Step 6: "We were entirely ready to have God remove all these defects of character." This step focuses on letting go of the old coping mechanisms and behaviors identified and acknowledged in the earlier step. It signifies that a person is willing to let these things go and move toward healthier behaviors that will support long-term recovery.

Step 7: "We humbly ask Him to remove our shortcomings." This step centers on the idea that all people have shortcomings. Understanding these failings and being willing to ask for help and draw on spiritual strength is important. This step stresses that humility is essential because it prevents people from minimizing their own weaknesses when facing addiction.

Step 8: "We made a list of all persons we had harmed, and became willing to make amends to them." This step focuses on acknowledging the harm caused by an individual's addiction. It is about assessing harm and facing feelings of guilt. In doing so, people can then feel more motivated to stick to their recovery in order to improve or restore their relationships with others.

Step 9: "We made direct amends to such people wherever possible, except when to do so would injure them or others." During this step, people offer apologies, try to fix the harm they caused, or ask for forgiveness. It is important to note that this is only if it will not cause further harm to the other person and with the understanding that being forgiven is not guaranteed. 

Step 10: "We continued to take personal inventory and when were wrong promptly admitted it." This step of recovery involves actively monitoring behavior and being willing to admit and rectify mistakes as they happen. Imperfection and setbacks are expected, but staying accountable and honest can keep people from falling back into old habits.

Step 11: "We sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious contact with God as we understood Him, praying only for knowledge of His will for us and the power to carry that out." This step is about living with intention and continuing to check in to ensure that the individual stays focused on their values and the demands of reality.

Step 12: "Having had a spiritual awakening as the result of these steps, we tried to carry this message to addicts, and to practice these principles in all our affairs." This step reinforces the lessons learned in earlier steps and encourages members to use what they have learned to help others on their path to recovery. 

DEmmi.jfif

“One of the hardest things was learning that I was worth recovery.” - Demi Lovato

Other Anonymous Fellowships

Cocaine Anonymous – http://www.ca.org
Gamblers Anonymous – http://www.gamblersanonymous.org
Dual Recovery Anonymous – http://www.draonline.org

Recoveries Anonymous – http://www.r-a.org
Emotional Health Anonymous – Emotional Health Anonymous
Nicotine Anonymous – http://www.nicotine-anonymous.org
Addictions Anonymous – http://www.alladdictionsanonymous.com
Chemically Dependent Anonymous – http://www.cdaweb.org
Crystal Meth Anonymous – http://www.crystalmeth.org
Dual Diagnosis Anonymous – http://www.ddaworldwide.org
Heroin Anonymous – http://www.heroin-anonymous.org/
Marijuana Anonymous – http://www.marijuana-anonymous.org
Methadone Anonymous – http://www.methadonesupport.org
Pills Anonymous – http://groups.msn.com/PillsAnonymous
Bettors Anonymous – http://www.bettorsanonymous.org
Clutterers Anonymous – http://www.clutterersanonymous.net
Emotions Anonymous – http://www.emotionsanonymous.org

Spenders Anonymous – http://www.spenders.org

Debtors Anonymous – http://debtorsanonymous.org

 

  • HIV AIDS Anonymous

          http://www.hivanonymous.com

  • Hepatitis C Anonymous

          http://www.hcvanonymous.com

           http://www.siawso.org

  • Recovering Couples Anonymous 

         http://www.recovering-couples.org

  • Schizophrenics Anonymous 

          http://sanonymous.com

For the Family

Al-Anon/Alateen – http://www.al-anon.alateen.org/
Adult Children of Alcoholics – http://www.adultchildren.org/
Nar-Anon – http://nar-anon.org/
Families Anonymous – http://www.familiesanonymous.org/
Parents Anonymous – http://www.parentsanonymous.org/
Co-Anon/ Cocaine Anonymous – http://www.co-anon.org/
Co-Dependents Anonymous – http://www.codependents.org/

Eating Addictions

Food Addicts Anonymous – http://foodaddictsanonymous.org/
Food Addicts in Recovery Anonymous – http://www.foodaddicts.org/
Overeaters Anonymous – http://www.oa.org/
Anorexics and Bulimics Anonymous –
Compulsive Eaters Anonymous – http://www.ceahow.org/
Eating Disorders Anonymous – http://www.eatingdisordersanonymous.org/
Overeaters Anonymous – http://www.oa.org/

Sex and Love Addictions

Love Addicts Anonymous – http://www.loveaddicts.org/
Sex and Love Addicts Anonymous – http://www.slaafws.org/
Sex Addicts Anonymous – http://www.sexaa.org/
Sexaholics Anonymous – http://www.sa.org
Sexual Compulsive Anonymous – http://www.sca-recovery.org/
Sexual Recovery Anonymous – http://sexualrecovery.org/

 

#  #  #

 

NEED SUPPORT?

Text CCR at (530) 923-0280 or email 

us at contact@colusacountyrecovery.com

RELAPSE
Prevention Tips

Help For
THE FAMILY

Smiling Man_edited_edited.jpg

RECOVERY RESOURCES

 

A Supportive Hug

ARTICLES
TIPS and POSTS

AEnB2UobR9Ch01lVYEHiB2g8IvdD2BqtVjIrTrNJ8nS8qPsRL23DObmqm1VN2N31OMVpHdsl-NNN_jO51opR7nroCf

INSPIRING
Sobriety Videos